Fund Details
Freemasons University Scholarships



The Freemasons University Scholarships are for full-time students who, in the year following application, will be enrolled in the final year of an undergraduate qualification.  Qualifications in this category include the following:
  • A Bachelor degree; or
  • A Bachelor degree with Honours.
Applicants for the scholarship must:
  • Have a good academic record; and
  • Be a New Zealand citizen or hold a Permanent New Zealand residency; and
  • Demonstrate good citizenship; and
  • Show leadership potential; and
  • Have proven community commitment.

The Scholarships will be awarded without regard to gender, ethnic background, creed or age.  Family association with Freemasonry is not a criterion for the award of a scholarship.  However, Freemasons have a tradition of caring for their community and will assist those who contribute back to the community.

Amount and Type of Award:

Twenty University Scholarships of $6,000 each.


The tenure of the scholarship is one year.

Important Information:

Selection Process
  • A Selection Committee is appointed in each university district.
  • The Committee invites short-listed candidates for an interview in February or March.
  • If selected you must attend.
  • All applicants will be advised of the outcome of their application by 31 March of the year following application.

Other Conditions

  • Freemasons reserve the right to use the names, photographs and details of successful scholars for promotional purposes.
  • All scholars will be required to attend an award presentation in May.
  • The names and contact details of successful scholars will be added to an alumni database.  Successful scholars will be asked to inform the Freemasons of subsequent changes to their contact details.

Search Filters:

  • New Zealand Citizen
  • New Zealand Permanent Resident
    Level of Study
    • Undergraduate (All Years)
    • Graduate and Postgraduate
      Other Criteria
      • Leadership
        AUT School
        • Business School
        • Colab: Creative Technologies
        • Law School
        • School of Science
        • School of Art and Design
        • School of Clinical Sciences
        • School of Communication Studies
        • School of Engineering Computer and Mathematical Sciences
        • School of Education
        • School of Hospitality Tourism and Events
        • School of Interprofessional Health Studies
        • School of Language and Culture
        • School of Public Health and Psychosocial Studies
        • School of Social Sciences and Public Policy
        • School of Sport and Recreation
        • Te Ara Poutama
          Begin Accepting Applications Date:
          1 Jul 2021
          Deadline Date (NZT Time Zone):
          1 Oct 2021 11:55 PM